Home » IVF » Holy Pee!!!

Holy Pee!!!

I used to not have to pee as much prior to getting pregnant…I was like a camel..I could hold it for hours on end…road trips with me were easy since I didnt need frequent rest stops…oh how that has changed..I pee at night more than during day go figure…I wake up pretty much every 3 hrs to pee and beleive me I am not peeing like a race horse…hubby even has commented when he hears it and says “thats it?” and I promptly say yes…it always feels like I have to pee a waterfall when its just a tinkle…I have perfected peeing at night with one eye open…I am pretty much sleep walking…and when I get back to bed I feel thirsty so I take a sip of water which starts this vicious cycle all over again…I think very soon I will be switching sides with hubby so I can be closer to the bathroom since I dont see this getting better but only far worse…I will def take the peeing too much to the throwing up all the time in 1st trimester any day!!!

I found this article on frequent urination:

Why do I have to go to the bathroom so often?

You may have noticed a more frequent need to pee even before you realized you were pregnant. In fact, it’s one of the most common early signs of pregnancy, starting about six weeks into your first trimester.

Why the change? Shortly after you become pregnant, hormonal changes cause blood to flow more quickly through your kidneys, filling your bladder more often.

What’s more, over the course of your pregnancy the amount of blood in your body rises until you have almost 50 percent more than before you got pregnant. This leads to a lot of extra fluid getting processed through your kidneys and ending up in your bladder.

Eventually, you may also feel pressure on your bladder from your growing uterus, which further compounds the problem.

You may notice that you need to get up to pee more often during the night in particular. That’s in part because when you lie down, some of the fluid that you retained in your legs and feet during the day makes its way back into your bloodstream and eventually into your bladder.

Some pregnancy books say that you’ll begin to feel some relief early in your second trimester as your uterus rises out of your pelvis, but research doesn’t support this idea. The fact is, you may not get that fabled second-trimester break at all.

In one study in which pregnant women actually measured how often and how much they urinated, researchers found that both the frequency and volume increased over the course of the women’s pregnancies, with no relief in the second trimester.

Try not to let this get you down, though. You’ll probably feel better in other ways during the second trimester and, as a result, you may find it less of a chore to be running to the bathroom all the time.

Is there anything I can do about it?

You can reduce your number of bathroom trips by avoiding beverages that have a mild diuretic effect, such as coffee, tea, and alcohol. (Of course, you shouldn’t be drinking alcohol now anyway.)

Another tip: When you pee, lean forward to help completely empty your bladder.

Don’t go thirsty in an attempt to make bathroom visits less frequent. It’s important for your health and your baby’s that you stay well hydrated.

You might want to try drinking plenty of fluids during the day but then cutting back in the hours before you go to bed. You may not be able to get much relief, though. As one mom we know puts it, “It’s nature’s cruel way of training you for the many nights of interrupted sleep once your baby arrives!”

When will this constant need to pee ease up?

You can expect all this peeing to ease off soon after your baby is born. For the first few days postpartum, you’ll urinate in greater quantities and even more often as your body gets rid of the extra fluid you retained during pregnancy. But after about five days, your need to urinate should be close to what it was before you were pregnant.

4 thoughts on “Holy Pee!!!

  1. I feel like I’m peeing all the time too! I think it’s only gotten worse in the 2nd tri. The husband is quite worried that this is a permanent thing so I’ll have to share with him that it will go back to normal fairly quickly post birth.

  2. I also get up about every three hours, and I also drink water once I’m done. I always feel thirsty, and usually more so at night (no matter how much I drink during the day). Seems to be no winning the pee game. I don’t mind though. I’ve been waiting to feel movement, so while I’m falling back to sleep I pay close attention to see if I can feel anything. haha Nothing yet, but I’m hoping the next couple weeks will bring me the fluttering feeling! 🙂

  3. Same here… During the day I go about every hour, and then I drink a glass of water (this way I also have an excuse to get up from my desk or my back hurts!), then at night I get up at least a couple of times… But I bet nothing can really prepare us for the ‘many nights of interrupted sleep’!!

  4. I was doing that too for a long time. I recently started sleeping through the night…it’s been almost a week and I’m hoping I can keep it up. My husband and I actually did switch sides of the bed. Not only so I could be closer to the bathroom but also because we plan on having the baby sleep in the room with us for the first few months and I didn’t want him/her sleeping next to the window.

Leave a Reply

